Published on Jun 5, 2019

Dual Credit Recognition Night

Henderson, KY – Henderson Community College recognized 51 students earning their college certificates in nursing assisting, computer information technology, and early childhood education on April 22, 2019.

Kara Becker, Coordinator of K-14 partnerships, congratulated these students on their academic accomplishment noting “these students took the initiative to pursue a rigorous program of study during high school. It is truly an accomplishment to receive a college certificate as a high school student.”

Henderson Community College partners with both Henderson County and Union County School Districts to provide these advanced dual credit opportunities. In 2018-2019, Henderson Community College enrolled over 500 dual credit students allowing them to complete college-level coursework while remaining enrolled at their high school.

Dr. Reneau Waggoner, Provost, noted the importance of this partnership in providing high school students advanced learning opportunities. “Henderson Community College is fortunate to have Henderson County and Union County School Districts as its dual credit partners. Through our partnership, we are collectively able to remove the ceiling to learning. High school students are able pursue the most challenging educational opportunities possible while remaining active members of their high school community.”

Henderson Community College provides general education and technical dual credit opportunities to students in Henderson and Union County through a variety of educational programs.

To learn more about dual credit opportunities and scholarships available to your students, please contact your guidance counselor. 

List of Students

Computer Information Technologies: Delbert Estes, Jacob Fulcher, Marissa Jones, Ginny Lorenzana, Brennan Lynn, James Morgan, Ryan Nantz and Aaron Stallings.

Nurse Aide:
Austin Bealmear, Shelby Burris, Julia Cheatham, Caitlin Chrisman, Tiffany Cowan, Ana Cruz-Arroya, Madison Deno, Rachel Dosmic, Kaylee Duncan, Madison Durbin, Breelyn Garrett, Rheagan Garrett, Olivia Glassco, Channa Greenwell, Sydney Hagan, Madelin Hancock, Alexis Hinton, Emilee Hope, Ellie Martin, Macey Overfield, Hannah Robards, Sarah Sampson, Trinity Smith, Hailey Snow, Jules Somers, Taylor Terry, Hannah Turner and Madison Woodring.

Early Childhood Education: Jayden Bennett-Nelson, Jacheie Blake, Miauna Bowling, Savannah Cruse, Marissa Davis, Taylor DeKemper, Jaderea Gilbert, Haley Hazelwood, Rmani Leachman, Breah Marshall, Madison McKain, Brooklyn Meuth, Andrea Miguel, Alexandra Nunn, Ellie Payne and Sarah Powel.

Early College Academy Recognition

Henderson, KY – On April 26, 26 students from Henderson, Union, and Webster County were also recognized during Henderson Community College’s inaugural Early College Academy celebration luncheon at the Preston Arts Center.

Provost Dr. Reneau Waggoner noted the success of the Early College Academy students was a celebration for the entire tri-county area. “The Early College Academy provides students with the opportunity to pursue their associate degree while remaining enrolled in their home high schools. These 26 students have continually surpassed my expectations for the program. These students have bright future ahead.”

Director of Admissions Dr. Chad Phillips shared his gratitude for the school districts and Henderson Community College faculty and staff in making the Early College Academy both an academically challenging and rewarding experience for it students.

“Our graduates are well prepared for the limitless possibilities that lay ahead of them”, Phillips said. “Their readiness for these challenges reflects the academic preparation they received in their home high school. It is also due to the support and commitment of HCC’s faculty who gave their expertise, time, and hearts to our students.”

The Toyota Foundation, Henderson’s Rotary Colonels to College Foundation, and the Union County’s Braves to College Foundation generously support the Early College Academy program and students.

To learn more about the Early College Academy, please contact Associate Professor Kara Becker. Kara.becker@kctcs.edu; 270-831-9793

Henderson County High School: Katherine Bovey, Roniah Burkins, Dimitri Joy, Hannah Kornacki, Marissa Lynn and Sharlee Wilhite.

Union County High School: Railey Carter, Jacqueline Davis, Madison Ferguson, Samuel Gatten, Thomas Gray, Emily Greenwell, Madelin Hancock, Pierce Henshaw, Alexes Huff, Lexi Lamb, Tori Omer, Shelby Pogue, Emma Sprague, Alivia Thomas and Peyton Wilson.

Webster County High School: Kerstin Braden, Daniel Gonzalez, Karlie Keeney, Rylee Warford and Kayla Yates.